Keep up with the news by installing RT’s extension for . Never miss a story with this clean and simple app that delivers the latest headlines to you.


Russian novel of the decade

Published time: November 01, 2011 09:46
Edited time: November 01, 2011 14:46
Lyudmila Ulitskaya (AFP Photo / Valeriy Melnikov)

Lyudmila Ulitskaya (AFP Photo / Valeriy Melnikov)

The Russian Booker Prize is set to choose the best novel of the decade. The five finalists were picked by professional jury from a list of 60 books, previously shortlisted for the prize in various years from 2001 to 2010.

The first Russian Booker award ceremony took place back in 1992 and has been held annually ever since. This year, due to some organizational and administrative changes within the structure of the prize, it is to be awarded for book of the decade.

The five finalists fighting for this prestigious title include Oleg Pavlov and his Funeral Rites in Karaganda, or, A Tale of Recent Times, the winner of the award in 2002, Zahar Prilepin and his Sankya, the finalist of 2006’s award, Roman Senchin and his The Eltyshevs, the finalist of 2009’s award, Ludmila Ulitskaya and her Daniel Stein, the Translator finalist of 2007’s prize, and Aleksandr Chudakov with his Haze Sets upon the Old Steps, 2001’s finalist.

The winner of the Russian Booker of the Decade award will be announced on December 1. If the jury fails to come to a common decision, an extra round may be introduced. The money prize for the winner totals almost $20,000.

The Russian Booker Prize Committee, headed by British journalist, writer and diplomat George Walden, is in charge of the Prize’s affairs. The committee recently cancelled one of the award’s essential rules: now not only living but also deceased authors are eligible.