Keep up with the news by installing RT’s extension for . Never miss a story with this clean and simple app that delivers the latest headlines to you.


Malkin awarded as best Russian in the NHL

Published time: June 09, 2012 10:03
Edited time: June 09, 2012 14:03

Evgeny Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins (Justin K. Aller/Getty Images/AFP)

Download video (7.05 MB)

Pittsburgh Penguins star Evgeny Malkin has snatched yet another individual prize as he was handed the Kharlamov Trophy at a ceremony in Moscow.

­“This prize is very valuable for me because the winner is chosen by the players themselves, Malkin said. “It's nice when friends off the ice and enemies on the rink are watching your game, and are even afraid of you at times,” he laughed.

The Kharlamov Trophy is awarded to the Russian Player of the Year in the NHL, and the 25-year-old fully deserved the honors, becoming the regular season’s top scorer with 53 goals and 64 assists.  

“Sergey Fedorov, Pavel Datsyuk, Aleksandr Ovechkin, Ilya Kovalchuk have got this award in the past, and I am proud to stand in the same line with such talented players,”
the player said. “This is a great honor. I want to win the Kharlamov Trophy next season as well and I’ll do everything to get it.”

According to Geno, he was so successful last season because he didn’t pay attention to what media wrote about him.

And that was the secret the man wanted to share with the Russian football squad, who are currently playing at Euro 2012.

“All I can say is that they should play as a team,”
he said. “They are under much pressure now. I hope they don’t read the papers too much.  They should just relax and do their best. Just get on the pitch, be a team and give away everything from start to finish. No matter what the score is, you can always come back. And we should always do our best as fans and then the guys will be able to win a medal, even gold.”  

Malkin was named the Most Valuable Player at the World Championships in Sweden and Finland last month.

He’s also nominated for the prestigious NHL individual award – the Hart Memorial Trophy (League MVP) and Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player).