You don’t see blood on the tennis court that often but Argentinian player David Nalbandian has been disqualified from the Queen's Club Championships final in London after an advertising board he kicked injured a line judge.
Nalbandian was 7-6 3-4 up in his clash with Marin Cilic when he gave away an important point and smashed the panel in disappointment.
The board broke in two and hit line judge Andrew McDougall, causing his shin to bleed heavily.
"I am very sorry, sometimes you get frustrated on court," Nalbandian said after the game was halted. "Sometimes I make a mistake I agree. It's a tough moment to end a final like that, but sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP playing so many tournaments.”
The referee was treated by the doctors on court, while the match was awarded to Cilic, who claimed his sixth career ATP trophy.
By posting your comment, you agree to abide by our Posting rules