Keep up with the news by installing RT’s extension for . Never miss a story with this clean and simple app that delivers the latest headlines to you.

 

Fakebook: Bogus NATO chief spies on his top-level friends

Published time: March 11, 2012 18:16
Edited time: March 12, 2012 16:09
Snapshot of NATO commander James Stavridis's genuine page on Facebook (Image from facebook.com)

NATO commander James Stavridis has fallen victim to spies who created a fake profile on his behalf on Facebook and sent numerous “friend requests” to UK military chiefs. UK media suspect reams of acquired personal data have flown to China.

­The sham account for NATO’s Supreme Allied Commander James Stavridis is understood to have gathered a distinguished company of British high-level military officers and Ministry of Defense officials.

While one might not go looking for sensitive information on a social network like Facebook, the site can certainly give clues to passwords for classified files, as it stores dates of birth, phone numbers and hobbies. It could also help build blackmail or espionage profiles by disclosing names, family members and friends and tracking locations.

NATO caught wind of the fake account late last year and had it deleted from Facebook. But official confirmation of the incident was gained only on Friday night.

"After the profile was reported to us, it was taken down as soon as we were notified and we investigated the issue," a Facebook spokesperson told the Telegraph.

The question of who is behind it all is still open.

The Sunday Telegraph understands that military officers have been told of “state-sponsored individuals in China.” The Observer also points the  finger at Beijing. But a NATO official when asked by the Telegraph to comment was reluctant to confirm this:

There have been several fake Supreme Allied Commander pages. Facebook has cooperated in taking them down. We are not aware that they are Chinese.”

Now Admiral Stavridis, who oversaw the operation which brought down Muammmar Gaddafi’s regime in Libya last year, is running a genuine Facebook account. All NATO’s top staff has been advised to open one in order to avert similar threats.

Comments (9)

James Stavridis 13.03.2012 10:36

I am pretty sure this was all a harmless prank by a family member.  The intelligence community have better ways of harvesting information than the internets.

+5

Undo

Eurasian 12.03.2012 09:11

Eurasian wrote in #3
Nato is the only true source of information and without them the Muslims would all be in bed with our women. Everything about Islam is lies being hiden away by the religious leaders. Today its our women tomorrow our children. wake up you stupid people._____________ ____________________ ____________________ _____ Using my name it doesn’t seem many bought your lies - judging by the ratings. As I said before countering those silly tricks; it doesn’t matter the name/pseudonym one uses but the substance and essence of the said. Your pc-brigade has been trying hard around here to present me is if I am against the Muslims, etc but everyone having previously read my comments knows I firmly stand for PEACE against the wars. On the other hand you are well known hiding behind the Americans or the Muslims - perfect evil users.

0

Undo

MikeNZ 12.03.2012 06:08

China had better be careful ... it brushes both ways ... best not to be seen as a threat ... after all - NATO is in Afghanistan and wanting new disaterous adventures.

0

Undo

View all comments (9)
Add comment

By posting your comment, you agree to abide by our Posting rules

Log in to comment in full, or comment anonymously under character-limit restriction.

100 Text

– required fields

Register or

Name

Password

Show password

Register

or Register

Request a new password

Send

or Register

To complete a registration check
your Email:

or Register

A password has been sent to your email address

Edit profile

Name

New password

Retype new password

Current password

Save

Cancel

Follow us