Keep up with the news by installing RT’s extension for . Never miss a story with this clean and simple app that delivers the latest headlines to you.


Snowden shortlisted for Sakharov Prize

Published time: October 01, 2013 11:11
Reuters / Ueslei Marcelino

Reuters / Ueslei Marcelino

Whistleblower Edward Snowden has made the shortlist of finalists for this year’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. The other nominees include Pakistani women’s rights activist Malala Yousafzai, and three Belarusian dissidents.

Snowden – a former CIA/NSA employee – leaked insider details of America’s domestic and global spy program. The revelations sparked an international diplomatic scandal, as some of America’s key European allies lashed out at Washington for its surveillance foul play. Snowden is wanted in the US on espionage charges. He was granted temporary asylum in Russia, where he currently resides. 

Snowden’s Sakharov Prize nomination is supported by the Greens and the leftist GUE/NGL.

Also on the list of finalists for the Sakharov Prize is Pakistani activist Malala Yousafzai. She’s been touring Pakistan on a campaign for the right to women's education, freedom and self-determination in Pakistan. The Taliban, which is opposed to giving women more rights, gunned her down in October 2012. But 16-year-old Yousafzai survived and recovered, and has since become a symbol of the fight for women's rights and worldwide access to education. 

Her Sakharov Prize bid is backed by the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE), the Socialists & Democrats (S&D), and two center-right groups: the European People's Party (EPP) and the European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR).

The other Sakharov Prize finalists are Belarusian dissidents Ales Bialatski, Eduard Lobau and Mykola Statkevich. They are considered political prisoners and have been in jail since the mass peaceful demonstration in Minsk on 19 December 2010, against the disputed re-election of President Aleksandr Lukashenko.

Their nominations for the prize enjoy strong Polish backing in the European Parliament, and were put forward on behalf of all Belarusian dissidents.

The Sakharov Prize was established by the European Parliament in 1988, to honor individuals or organizations who have dedicated their lives to the defense of human rights and freedom of thought. It is named in honor of Andrey Sakharov, a Soviet nuclear physicist, dissident and human rights activist.

The winner will be announced on 10 October, and the winner will walk away with a hefty sum of 50,000 euro.

Past laureates of the prestigious Prize include Kofi Annan, Nelson Mandela and Aung San Suu Kyi.

Comments (2)


Julie Andras 02.10.2013 07:00

From # 8: ....Snowden is manufactured by the US government to take the "focus" off of me....I MUST appear as the "VILLAIN" to the world...Was Mr. Snowden's life threatened over a BOOK?....I WILL write my book despite Washington's threats and Bill Clinton's threats!


Alex Semiletow 01.10.2013 11:47

When will the US citizens wake up from the beer induced coma, and realize that to remain the best and freest country in the world they have to participate in politics and look for EVERYONE's well-being??? The world is waking up ...

Add comment

Authorization required for adding comments

Register or



Show password


or Register

Request a new password


or Register

To complete a registration check
your Email:


or Register

A password has been sent to your email address

Edit profile



New password

Retype new password

Current password



Follow us

Follow us